Ambassadors and advisory board

NOTRE COMITé DE CONFéRENCE

Le comité de conférence de DRC Mining Week travaille en étroite collaboration avec notre équipe de production pour suivre les dernières tendances de l'industrie, les domaines à relever et fournir un aperçu stratégique du secteur. Les membres de notre comité de conférence apportent un ensemble unique et diversifié d'expertises pluridisciplinaires en politique, fiscalité, commerce, opérations minières, investissement et participation communautaire.
Cyrille Mutombo

Cyrille Mutombo

Directeur Pays
Barrick Gold

Cyrille Mutombo est Directeur Pays de Randgold et Kibali Goldmines, poste qu'il occupe depuis novembre 2014. Expert en développement avec plus de 15 ans d'expérience dont 12 dans les mines, Cyrille Mutombo est titulaire d'une licence en économie et développement de l'Université catholique du Congo , d’une maîtrise en sciences du développement de l'Université du Witwatersrand en Afrique du Sud et d’une maîtrise en gestion de projet de l'Université de Liverpool. Cyrille Mutombo a une solide connaissance de l’Afrique, ayant travaillé dans plusieurs pays du continent. Il a rejoint Randgold Resources Limited il y a un peu plus de 8 ans en tant que directeur du développement social et durable et a piloté avec succès la réinstallation de 4 200 familles avec des infrastructures connexes à Kibali. Il a ensuite été promu Directeur Social au niveau du Groupe Randgold en 2014. La même année, il a été nommé Directeur Pays pour la RDC.
Guy Muswil

Guy Muswil

Directeur du développement durable
Kamoa Copper SA

M. Muswil a 20 ans d’expérience professionnelle dont 7 dans le secteur minier dans le développement social. Il possède une grande expérience de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises minières ce qui lui donne la capacité d’ajouter de la valeur aux échanges professionnels en contribuant au gain et en gardant la licence sociale d’exploitation avec retours d’affaires plus élevés. A l’heure actuelle, Muswil est directeur des relations communautaires de Kamoa Copper SA, membre du comité RSE de la chambre des mines et membre du conseil directeur d’IDAK. Il possède également 7 ans d’expérience dans le programme d’assistance humanitaire des Nations Unies, et pour le PAM en particulier, en tant que directeur d’agence locale et responsable de programme.
John Nsana Kanyoni

John Nsana Kanyoni

Vice-President de la Chambre des Mines
FEC

John Nsana Kanyoni est diplomé de la faculté de droit de l’université de Kinshasa, il a 18 ans d’expérience dans les mines et l’industrie du commerce. John est le vice-président de la chambre des mines de la République Démocratique du Congo (RDC), il est chargé de l’étain, tantalite et du tungsten à la Fédération des Entreprises du Congo (FEC). Il est également membre du comité de contrôle de la Conférence Internationale sur la région des Grands Lacs sur l’Exploitation illégale des ressources naturelles dans la région des Grands Lacs, membre du groupe de l’OCDE qui travaille sur l’audit préalable des chaînes d’approvisionnement des minéraux en provenance de zones affectées par le conflit et à haut risque. John a 13 ans d’expérience comme directeur général de METACHEM S.A.R.L., une compagnie qui commercialise les métaux et les produits chimiques dans la région des grands lacs. John a travaillé  en étroite collaboration avec le département d’état des États-Unis, le sénat, le congrès et la SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) sur l’impact de la section1502 de la section Dodd-Franck en RDC/ Deux grandes organisations électroniques aux Etats-Unis (EICC et GeSI) sur les problèmes des minéraux du conflit en RDC/ L’ ITRI (l’organisation mondiale de l’étain) et la TIC (l’organisation mondiale de la tantalite) sur les politiques de traçabilité dans la région des grands lacs / tous les partenaires de la RDC sur le concept des minéraux du conflit (UN, EU, PROMINES avec la banque mondiale, USAID et des 
Simon Tuma Waku

Simon Tuma Waku

Vice Président
Chambre des Mines

Simon Tuma-Waku est directeur de la société miniere Tenke Fugurume. M. Tuma-Waku a été ministre des Mines et des Hydrocarbures de la RDC entre 2001 et 2003. À ce titre, il était responsable de la rédaction et de la mise en œuvre du code minier ainsi que de la réglementation actuellement en vigueur en RDC. Plus récemment, M. Tuma-Waku agit en tant que représentant de La Generale des Carrieres et des Mines SA (Gécamines), la société minière du gouvernement de la RDC, dans une coentreprise avec China Molybdenum sur les opérations minières de Tenke Fungurume en RDC qui ont été acquises par China Molybdenum. de Freeport McMoRan et Lundin Mining en 2016. Il reste membre du conseil d'administration de Standard Bank (RDC), président non exécutif de Mongbwalu Gold Mines (MGM) RDC et vice-président national en charge de la Fédération minière des entreprises du Congo. M. Tuma-Waku était auparavant PDG de Congo Railways Solutions et président exécutif de Kamoto Copper Company (KCC), une division de Katanga Mining Limited (KML). M. Tuma-Waku est titulaire d'une maîtrise en sciences (mines) ainsi que d'un diplôme en administration des affaires.

Advisory board

MEET OUR ADVISORY BOARD MEMBERS

The DRC Mining Week Advisory Board works closely with our production team to keep track of the latest industry trends, areas of challenges and provide strategic insight on the overall direction of the sector. Our advisory board members bring a unique and diverse set of backgrounds and expertise in policy & regulation, trade, mining operations, investment and community involvement.
 
Cyrille Mutombo

Cyrille Mutombo

Country Director,
Barrick Gold

Cyrille Mutombo is Country Director of Randgold and Kibali Goldmines, a position he has held since November 2014. Development expert with more than 15 years of experience including 12 in mining, Cyrille Mutombo has a bachelor's degree in economics and development from the Catholic University of Congo, a Masters in Development Sciences from the University of the Witwatersrand in South Africa and a Masters in Project Management from the University of Liverpool. Cyrille Mutombo has a solid knowledge of the African continent, where he has worked in several countries. He joined Randgold Resources Limited just over 8 years ago as Director of Social and Sustainable Development and has successfully piloted the resettlement of 4,200 families with related infrastructure in Kibali. He was then promoted to Social Director at Randgold Group level in 2014. The same year he was appointed Country Director for the DRC.
Guy Muswil

Guy Muswil

Head of Sustainability
Kamoa Copper SA


Guy Muswil has 20 years of professional experience including 7 years’ in the mining sector especially in social development; with a long experience in corporate social responsibility in the mining industry with ability to add value to company’s business by contributing to gain and maintain Social License to Operate for superior business returns. Muswil is currently the Director of Community Relations of Kamoa Copper SA, member of the CSR committee of the Chamber of Mines and member of the steering committee of IDAK. And he has 7 years’ experience in the UN Humanitarian Assistance Program, specifically in WFP: Head of Sub-Office, Program Officer.
John Nsana Kanyoni

John Nsana Kanyoni

Vice President,
Chamber of Mines

 
Nsana Kanyoni John graduated from University of Kinshasa (Faculty of Law). He has 18 years’ experience in the mining and trading industry. John is vice president of Chamber of Mines in Democratic republic of Congo (DRC) in charge of tin, tantalite and tungsten at the Federation of Enterprises of Congo (FEC). He is also a member of the Audit Committee of the ICGLR (International conference on the Great Lakes region) on Illegal Exploitation of Natural Resources in the Great Lakes region, member of the OECD working group on the Due Diligence for Responsible Supply Chains of Minerals from Conflict- Affected and High-Risk Areas. John has over 13 years’ experience as managing Director of METACHEM S.A.R.L, a company trading metal and chemicals in the Great Lake Region. John has previously held various positions and worked closely with: The US State Department, Senate, Congress and the SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) on the impact of the section 1502 of the Dodd-Franck Section in DRC/ Two large electronics organisations in the US (EICC and GeSI) on the issues of Conflict Minerals in DRC/ The ITRI (World Tin Body Industry Organisation) and TIC (World tantalite Industry Organisation) on traceability schemes in the Great Lakes Region. / All the partners of DRC on the concept of Conflict Minerals (UN, EU, PROMINES with the World-Bank, USAID and international NGO’s). John was Coordinator of comptoirs for EITI in DRC (2009), President of the North-Kivu Association of Exporters (2006) and Managing Partner of Global Minerals (1999).
LAURA-JANE CORNISH

LAURA-JANE CORNISH

Head of content 
Mining Review Africa 


Having achieved the highest marks in her class for her Honours year in journalism, Laura began her career in the mid-2000s as a mining journalist and quickly progressed to the position of editor for her first mining journal just two years later. Today Laura has gather in excess of 16-years of experience in mining editing and reporting and has become recognised as a leader in her field within the African mining industry. Laura has travelled extensively across Africa and internationally, both underground and on surface, and in doing so has developed a technically sound and extensive knowledge of the mining industry which equates to quality content excellence. Today Laura is the Editor-In-Chief of Mining Review Africa magazine and miningreview.com and also fulfils the role of Head of Content for Clarion Events Africa’s Mining division. In these two roles Laura is responsible for generating and overseeing industry-relevant content for the African mining industry, delivering a quality publication, website and three well-known digital/live events – Africa Mining Forum, DRC Mining Week and Nigeria Mining Week.
Simon Tuma Waku

Simon Tuma Waku

Vice President
Chamber of Mines

Simon Tuma-Waku is Director of the mining company Tenke Fugurume. Mr Tuma-Waku was Minister of Mines & Hydrocarbons for the DRC between 2001 and 2003. In this role, he was responsible for the drafting and implementation of the mining code and regulations currently in force in the DRC. Most recently, Mr. Tuma-Waku acts as the representative of La Generale des Carrieres et des Mines S.A. (Gecamines) the DRC government mining company, in a joint venture with China Molybdenum on the Tenke Fungurume DRC mining operations that were acquired by China Molybdenum from Freeport McMoRan and Lundin Mining in 2016. He remains a board member of Standard Bank (DRC), Non-Executive Chairman of Mongbwalu Gold Mines (MGM) DRC, and National Vice-President in charge of Mining Federation des Enterprise Du Congo. Mr. Tuma-Waku was formerly CEO of Congo Railways Solutions and Executive Chairman of Kamoto Copper Company (KCC), a division of Katanga Mining Limited (KML). Mr. Tuma-Waku holds a Master of Sciences (Mining) degree as well as a Diploma in Business Administration.